Carers land major award

TWO exceptional Tasmanian Landcarers and Landcare groups have been named the winners of the prestigious 2022 National Landcare Awards on Wednesday night.

Presented at the National Landcare Awards Gala Dinner at Sydney’s International Convention Centre in front of industry members, politicians and the Australian-wide Landcare groups, the event was a recognition of the best of Australian’s conservation champions.

A 25-year-old Tasmanian ecologist Yanti Winoto-Lewin was awarded the Steadfast Young Landcare Leadership Award.

Ms Winoto-Lewin started Friends of Franklin Forest (FoFF) in June 2020 in an effort to stop Franklin Forest being logged.

Thanks to the group’s work, the area has been removed from the harvesting schedule with FoFF now running monthly ecology focused guided walks and undertaking environmental protection activities in the forest.

The Wildcare group Friends of Bass Strait Islands were Tasmania’s other award winners, being recognised with the Coastcare Award. Friends of Bass Strait Island have been managing feral plant species including infestations of boxthorn and mirror bush on the off-shore islands in the Furneaux Islands and strategic coastal areas of Flinders Island.

By undertaking meticulous weed control on over 250ha they are contributing to securing penguin safety in the area.

Landcare Australia CEO Dr Shane Norrish applauded the work of all the winners, saying that their range of innovative and impactful projects across multiple landscapes highlighted the diversity of landcare across Australia.

“These have been a tough few years for land carers, and the winners deserve special commendation for their extraordinary leadership and innovation in the face of adversity,” Dr Norrish said.

“These have been a tough few years for land carers and the winners deserve special commendation for their extraordinary leadership and innovation in the face of adversity.”

“Their achievements embody the strength, resilience and community spirit of all land carers across Australia and make me proud to be a part of this incredible movement.

“I’m thrilled to be able to join them to celebrate their success and inspire more people to get involved in Landcare.”

Federal Agriculture Minister Senator Murray Watt commended the award winners on their outstanding achievements, saying the Australian Government was proud of such inspiring Landcare leaders.

“These awards recognise the tireless work of land carers across the country, many of whom have dedicated their lives to conserving the environment, improving land management practices and giving back to their communities,” Mr Watt said.

“Whether they be groups, partnerships or individuals, each one of these winners has overcome the challenges thrown their way to deliver fantastic land care outcomes.

Tasmania had eight nominees attend the event, with congratulations to Todd Dudley, Tim Reed, the Seymour Community Action Group, The Derwent Estuary Program, The Green Team from Wynyard High School and Rosny mob from Rosny College.